Member #
    Images

replacement engine shop

looking for a shop to do either a rebuild or replacement for a 4.7 v8 in my wifes 99 wj. almost 300k and finally went bye bye. she loves this one, and doesnt want another, even tho its much cheaper to buy them these days. anyone have dealing with local shops they would recommend? i know im looking at at least 5k, just want a good install since i have zero free time anymore. the rest of the parts are great condition since i usually keep it new when problems arise so a long block would be ok. i have no experience with rebuilds but would want another 100k mileage out of it again at least. its too early and i ramble. thanks for any input folks!
    06 rubicon unlimited, Rokmen all around

Carl Sagan: "If it can be destroyed by the truth, then it deserves to be destroyed by the truth"

Member #
    Images
    Ive learned to away from atk

Member #
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by vb View Post
    Ive learned to away from atk
    What is atk?

BTW, all I know is my wife wants this vehicle, for some reason. I keep her happy, 5k is a small amount considering she could want a new Land Rover again

Member #
    I'm guessing he means these guys.

https://www.high-performance-engines.com/
    95 ZJ, Lift, dents, and noise.

Member #
    Images
    Yes, those guys.

Honestly, in my experience running my shop the engine remanufacturing is about the same across the board for what your looking for. My recommendation is make sure you get one that has labor warranty coverage. We have not had great luck with Jasper, however they have honored their warranty no questions asked and paid both parts and labor for our customers.

We also did one from "factory motor parts" which had a defective rear main seal and leaked from day one. They did pay out on it but were more difficult then Jasper.