Need a new streaming device for TV - Roku appears to be on life support

I was given a Roku 1 as a friend upgraded to a smart TV. Mine are all still dumb. So I've been using this Roku for a little over 2 years with good success. But then, a purple screen of what I can only image is death! Did this to us a week ago, but snapped out of it. Then again last night and there was no revival this time. I unplugged the unit overnight and tried it again today. Got 10 minutes into a Dukes of Hazzard episode before the purple screen'd and then restarted on it's own. "Programmed Obsolesce" is what I call it!

Anywho, we primarily watch Netflix, Amazon Prime video, and Youtube. So looking for a device that does those things to replace my Roku.

What do you use?

Thanks!
    God Forgives, Rock's Don't www.ucora.org
    1973 Bronco, 351 SEFI, Locked, discs, 35's ZF-5spd and Atlas 4spd. 235:1 Crawl Ratio

Member #
    I've used an Amazon Fire Stick for the past couple of years without any significant issues. I have 3 of them now, and the oldest one is needing to be replaced as it is slow to load, otherwise it does everything you are wanting to do as that is what we use it for- Netflix, Amazon Prime, YouTube, Pandora, etc.

I found a Blue Ray player at Best Buy with WiFi connectivity. The salesman was actually REALLY helpful in figuring out what I needed. I linked it to my router, it has Netflix, Amazon Prime, youtube, Pandora- and also a bunch of other Apps I never use. I think it was $60.

It is a little slow and not nearly as effective as the xbox360, but small (I hide it behind the TV) and seems to work very well. It is "less" clumsy than my daughter's Roku, but not ideal in my opinion.

BUT- it is just as effective as my Mom's smart TV- so I'll keep my dumb tv for a while and deal with the clumsy DVD player.
    If you cross thread a bolt, there is no need for loctite.

Run whatcha brung... And hope you brought enough.