Thread: New to shutterbug, I need opinions on outdoor/nature cameras.

Member #

Question New to shutterbug, I need opinions on outdoor/nature cameras.

With Christmas coming in a few months, I am doing my homework now on the camera I am going after. I am new to the whole deal so this will be my first dslr. I took a photo class in college with 35mm and used my dads stuff, so everything I buy will be new to me. Used is fine and my budget for now is in the $700-800 range. I know that's not huge but I need to start somewhere. I am thinking 2 lenses, and a body.

I dont have a preference on brand yet, I have been lurking here a bit and am confused on what will work best to start. I am into wheeling (obviously), hunting, hiking, boating, and fishing. Lots of stuff where weather is a concern.

What is a good starter camera that is quiet (animal shots) and durable (weather resistant, if that exists). I dont need to many features that I wont use right away, and is reasonable priced for getting started, or am I asking to much? TIA
    95 ZJ, Lift, dents, and noise.

Member #
    Images
    Olympus E3 is one of the most weather resistant dSLR's out there.
    Chester Bullock
    Instagram - http://instagram.com/coskier
    My drone photography - http://instagram.com/gypsy_drone

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by ColoradoSkier View Post
    Olympus E3 is one of the most weather resistant dSLR's out there.
    And also well outside his budget...

Personally, id look for a cheap body...like a used Canon XTi or something along those lines and buy a couple nice lenses. Youll find the more you shoot, camera bodies are rarely the limitations(sporting events aside where professional grade auto focusing and high rates of FPS rule the road)...good glass is the biggest and best investment you can make in photography as far as picture quality goes.
    [B][FONT="Comic Sans MS"][COLOR="Red"]Somewhere in Kenya, a village is missing their idiot [/COLOR][/B][/FONT]