PDA

View Full Version : Carfax for bikes? EDIT: Verified scam!!!!


Hardcor4x4
March 21st, 2007, 01:37 PM
So someone here my work was looking through the Ducati bikes on Ebay last night and came across a 2006 Ducati 750 Superbike with a buy it now price of $3500. Normally this is a $12,000-$18,000 bike. He emails the guy and says he'll drive down to Texas this weekend to take a personal look at it and cash in hand if everything checks out. The pictures of the bike look like it's in perfect shape and he says it has very low miles. Seller is selling due to health problems and needs the money for medical bills. I told my co-worker to get the bikes VIN number and the name it's registered too and we'll have someone do a carfax on it to make sure it's legit and not someone trying to sell a stolen or wrecked bike to make some fast cash. So Does carfax do reports for bikes too? Anyone on here able to do a Carfax?

Mrfreeze5
March 21st, 2007, 02:09 PM
Yes Carfax does do bikes. I ran one on mine last year. Watch out for that bike though. That sounds like one of the scams going around ebay. In fact Im willing to bet that it is a scam. You wont find any 2006 Duc for that price unless it is a giant ball of scrap metal with footpegs.

Hardcor4x4
March 21st, 2007, 02:25 PM
Well I went to carfax.com and input the VIN number but it said its an invalid VIN number. The guy sent an actual picture of the bikes VIN and other pics of the bike and it's a complete bike. I don't see any dented or even scratched panels on it.

Hardcor4x4
March 21st, 2007, 03:55 PM
OK after doing some google searching on the VIN number it has turned up to a scam. Someone copied the pictures were thinking from here. This bike has the same VIN number. but isn't the Ebay ad he saw last night
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2006-DUCATI-749-ALL-BLACK-VERY-RARE-LIMITED_W0QQitemZ150101669657QQcategoryZ49990QQcmdZViewItem

It seems to be for sale here also with the same VIN number too.
http://www.dickpoetoyota.com/PreownedInventoryDetail.aspx?PreownedInventoryId=1025553&Type=used

And here this 2007 Ducati has the same VIN also but located in France.
http://www.bikez.biz/ads/showad.php?ad=22379&spec=ducati_monster_s4r_testastretta

Tom N
March 21st, 2007, 09:18 PM
When my wife hit a deer with her Blazer we used our insurance co. and had it fixed all aboveboard. I checked it on carfax a year later and it didnt show up so I think Carfax is a scam.

Mrfreeze5
March 23rd, 2007, 02:31 PM
When my wife hit a deer with her Blazer we used our insurance co. and had it fixed all aboveboard. I checked it on carfax a year later and it didnt show up so I think Carfax is a scam.

But was it totaled? Salvaged? Reconstructed? Repairs dont show up on carfax unless it changes the status of the title.

crackhead
March 23rd, 2007, 03:13 PM
See thats not true either.. The A6 we just bought my wife says something about suspension work being done.. Its fine, and never been salvaged.. Now about the bike, is it a US spec bike?? When I brought bikes back from overseas and got 'em registered, the VIN's didnt work either.. Different system all together..