PDA

View Full Version : Loch Lomond



jaidmaster
June 19th, 2006, 09:52 AM
Headed up to Loch Lomond yesterday for some fishing. Two drifts about 1/2 mile from the lake stopped progress for all vehicles that were there. I ended up sideways off the lower side of the trail and had the be winched out by an ATV! :) It was a Polaris Ranger. http://www.polarisindustries.com/en-us/Ranger/Models/RangerXP/
He didn't make it through either. Some dirt bikes and a couple other ATV's made it to the lake.
Here are a few pics at the lake:
http://community.webshots.com/album/551518621KlMwAR

mtn WJ
June 19th, 2006, 11:33 AM
Thanks for posting. I am glad I decided to take the kids to Chatfield with the Canoe instead of Loch Lohman. I was on 470 headed that way and had second thoughts knowing I have seen snow up near the lake in July. It would have been a PITA to carry a canoe that far.

KINSPINZ
June 19th, 2006, 12:31 PM
Could you get to the camping spots?

jaidmaster
June 19th, 2006, 12:38 PM
Maybe it was only 1/4 mile..? :) Not sure about the camping spots - There were some places which appeared to be camping spots on the road along the way, so I'd say yes, but if they are elsewhere, I don't know. You can drive most of the way to the lake, but we walked the last bit. Didn't locate any of those "big hungry fish" though...

mtn WJ
June 19th, 2006, 01:23 PM
Yea the fish I have caught up there was by the waterfall. You can hike to it by going around to the left or take a canoe.

I have camped up there several times and its hit or miss for catching fish. Still a fun place to Jeep up and camp.

otisdog
June 19th, 2006, 06:04 PM
Here's what it looked like last Sunday from Kingston Peak.
Jim

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y158/otisdog4/Kingston%20Peak/k127.jpg