PDA

View Full Version : Kawasaki Versys experience/opinions...

tomn
June 4th, 2012, 07:38 AM
I'm considering getting a street bike to commute and play on and one I'm looking at is the Kawasaki Versys. I'm still a new street rider, owned a 2007 Yamaha FZ6 which I rode for a year before selling it for a new dirt bike. I have been riding dirt bikes/motocross for 3-4 years. So I do have motorcycle experience just limited street. Does anyone have a Versys and if so how do you like it. Looking for the positives and negatives with experience. Thanks.

Keyton
June 7th, 2012, 09:12 PM
For a commuter / play bike you could do a lot worse. I haven't ridden the new version but took a long look at these when they came to the US in '08. Handling is crisp but not twitchy, power delivery spools out nice and evenly. Personally I found the cockpit a bit cramped for me, the engine was a little vibey at higher revs, and I was a little shy about buying a first-year bike even though it had been in Europe for a couple of years. I ended up with a Suzuki V-Strom and have been thoroughly happy with it. If something happened to mine tonight, I might consider the Triumph Tiger 800 for a while ... but likely end up with another V-Strom since it fits so well in the gap between my loaded touring bike and dirt bike.

Ask you question on ADV Rider site and the Beasts sub-forum (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5) and you'll get gobs of feedback.

tomn
June 8th, 2012, 01:12 PM
Thanks for the input. The engine vibes is an issue I've come across in some searches but apparently Kawasaki installed new rubber engine mounts and foot pegs on the 10's and up which were supposed to help. Just looking for real world experience in this area with the power and hanlding. Thanks for the links also, I'll check them out.

Jeff Mason
June 11th, 2012, 11:07 PM