PDA

View Full Version : New Server



ncserv
December 9th, 2011, 09:08 PM
The site is moved to the new server and you are seeing the correct place if you can see this thread. We are monitoring the server and adjusting resources as needed to keep the site running properly. You will not see the resource error any longer as CO4x4 is the only site on the server so we could loosen the security needed to keep the site running.

Kris

theirishavenger
December 9th, 2011, 09:24 PM
Thanks for all your hard work keeping us poor web wheelers entertained!

:beer:

Chris

ColoradoSkier
December 9th, 2011, 09:39 PM
Thank you!

yota79crawler
December 9th, 2011, 09:57 PM
i can login with my laptop, but when i login on my desktop, it says account suspended, what do i do to fix that?
i type in www.colorado4x4.org, and it loads up www.colorado4x4.org/cgi-sys/suspendedpage.cgi

Clint
December 9th, 2011, 10:09 PM
im getting database errors.

yota79crawler
December 9th, 2011, 10:11 PM
this new server suck balls

ncserv
December 9th, 2011, 10:20 PM
this new server suck balls

The error you have has nothing to do with the server, it is your DNS cache still not filtered out. If you are seeing a suspended page you are seeing the old site, it was shut down to make sure no one was accidentally seeing it or it did not get reactivated.

The DB errors are from tweaks being made on the live site, It is in a settling state for the next 24 hours.

kris1351
December 9th, 2011, 10:21 PM
this new server suck balls

The server while quite capable does not have that feature installed.

yota79crawler
December 9th, 2011, 10:22 PM
ok thats nice, how do i fix my desk top to get on here?

Powerwagon
December 9th, 2011, 10:26 PM
ok thats nice, how do i fix my desk top to get on here?

flush the dns cache

kris1351
December 9th, 2011, 10:28 PM
DNS cache is not set by us, we refresh all domains at a normal period. Your ISP and local router control how fast your computers/network reset. That isn't something we can do. You can try the steps on this site to see if you can push it along. These steps plus a reboot usually do the trick, but even if you don't within a few hours typically that error will clear. Folks that did not attempt to access the site during the move will not see the old site error, I am adjusting its page now to something more friendly than the default page and posting the tips.

http://www.techiecorner.com/35/how-to-flush-dns-cache-in-linux-windows-mac/

yota79crawler
December 9th, 2011, 10:29 PM
thanks, i will try that

Clint
December 9th, 2011, 10:32 PM
The server while quite capable does not have that feature installed.

Lol

Sent from my DROID BIONIC

kris1351
December 9th, 2011, 10:39 PM
For those seeing the old site still. I switched browsers on my desktop and it saw the new site. Just flush your DNS cache first. Firefox still goes to the old site, but my Safari and Chrome both go to the new. Your browser could be holding cache even though you refresh the system via command line.

yota79crawler
December 9th, 2011, 10:45 PM
i rebooted my comp and my modem, and its all working good now
no suckin balls for this site

kris1351
December 9th, 2011, 10:49 PM
Good to hear

Steve
December 9th, 2011, 10:51 PM
:thumbsup:

ToyRunner1
December 9th, 2011, 11:18 PM
The server seems to be much more reactive. Thanks for the excellent work!!!

tantonio
December 9th, 2011, 11:34 PM
The server seems to be much more reactive. Thanks for the excellent work!!!

x2 :thumbsup:

cheftyler
December 10th, 2011, 11:41 AM
:thumbsup:

kris1351
December 10th, 2011, 02:01 PM
Recompiling and patching a couple of things for speed. You might see a few minutes of DB errors or up/down status while this happens. Should be very short though if at all.

kris1351
December 10th, 2011, 04:09 PM
I apologize for the delay on that. We are out of the server for the rest of the day at this time. We found a corruption in the post table that was causing errors to be returned by the site. Instead of risk issues down the road I went ahead and repaired things, took a little longer to run the repair than I planned. Thanks everyone for your patience.

Wulf
December 10th, 2011, 04:47 PM
:thumbsup:

SolarBell
December 11th, 2011, 10:25 AM
Thanks for your work! Database corruption can be a serious pain to clean up right.

Powerwagon
December 11th, 2011, 04:14 PM
I get a db error landing page if I go to http://www.colorado4x4.org but http://www.colorado4x4.org/vbb works

Clint
December 11th, 2011, 04:16 PM
posts taking forever to update.

GM4X4LOVER
December 11th, 2011, 05:25 PM
I get a db error landing page if I go to http://www.colorado4x4.org but http://www.colorado4x4.org/vbb works

Me too, if i go to home page it tells me this


Colorado4x4.org is currently down while we resolve a forum database issue that has been causing issues. It should be back online fully in a short time, thank you for your patience.

Both of my computers see this(been like this for 2 days now), but my cell phone has no issue.

Powerwagon
December 11th, 2011, 05:41 PM
Nick I think someone changed the landing page during the outage and then didnt set it back after ;0

ncserv
December 11th, 2011, 06:25 PM
I will fix the landing page. We put that up and I forgot to take it down.

ncserv
December 11th, 2011, 06:27 PM
posts taking forever to update.

Please be more specific. Average search times are showing 0.04 from my home browser and Tapatalk.

Clint
December 11th, 2011, 06:33 PM
Please be more specific. Average search times are showing 0.04 from my home browser and Tapatalk.

in chrome and firefox here. Post submit, nice and quick. then click on new posts. still shows the post from the last user before me as the last post and shows the post unread. takes a good 5-30 seconds for it to update and show that I posted in there. time stamp on posts show that Im not seeing them for a good 20-30 seconds after they are posted. no matter how many times a reload or clicking on new posts, it takes its time.

ncserv
December 11th, 2011, 07:26 PM
Caching may be doing that.

kris1351
December 11th, 2011, 07:35 PM
Took the search function out of the caching mechanism. The caching piece allows threads such as the Lunatic Fringe and picture heavy threads to be cached instead of having to load the old pages as new each time. Saves server load and browser load time. Will see if this help take away any cache time on new posts.

tjjared413
December 12th, 2011, 06:50 AM
:thumbsup:

crashXJ
December 12th, 2011, 01:42 PM
:thumbsup:

Bike Guy
January 15th, 2012, 07:10 PM
:thumbsup: X2

ncserv
January 16th, 2012, 12:53 AM
Doing some maintenance tonight to the network, you may see some periodic outages while we perform these upgrades.

Oscar
January 18th, 2012, 10:17 AM
Seems something isn't working right today, it keeps giving the error 500 can't find server.

Steve
January 18th, 2012, 11:15 AM
Yup, not working well at all today. Very slow, lots of timeouts, errors, etc.

scottycards
January 18th, 2012, 01:36 PM
The fail is strong today. Thought it was some kind of unannounced SOPA protest, lolz.

Clint
January 18th, 2012, 02:10 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYc05gZFly0

Clint
January 18th, 2012, 02:10 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yo3uxqwTxk0

Clint
January 18th, 2012, 02:12 PM
http://i02.i.aliimg.com/img/pb/262/405/259/1280109359471_hz-myalibaba-web9_3757.jpg

Clint
January 18th, 2012, 02:12 PM
http://fc04.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2010/228/f/c/Fix_it_Cat_by_combine324.jpg

ncserv
January 24th, 2012, 01:18 PM
Still seeing errors? The 500s are usually temporary firewall blocks. If you are using IE make sure you don't have a worm or virus. One going around that spawns hundreds of processes each time you visit a website. I am getting normal login times on the iPhone and Fios at home.

Oscar
January 24th, 2012, 02:53 PM
I get them a few times a day on my ipad

ncserv
January 24th, 2012, 03:37 PM
I see quite a few logs in the firewall for mod_security triggers and the IE worm bug. I have cleared everything to see if that helps. If you receive a message from the server such as a 500 that is an error page. If it just times out that is network, need to know what is happening to troubleshoot.

ncserv
January 24th, 2012, 04:24 PM
I added some additional resources to see if that helps.