PDA

View Full Version : Resource errors and other odd site behavior



Eric
December 6th, 2011, 03:01 PM
We've reach the limits of our current hosting environment so you've probably noticed errors popping up with increasing frequency. I'm working with our hosts to move the site to a private server. I'll post updates in this thread.

guapotaco
December 7th, 2011, 02:17 PM
yep,lots of errors going on, site wont even open most times now

birddog59
December 7th, 2011, 06:25 PM
What if a higher percentage of the Resource users ante'd up their $20 a year, maybe then there would be more Resource and Less error messages?

ColoradoSkier
December 7th, 2011, 07:06 PM
Do you want recommendations on a new host?

kris1351
December 8th, 2011, 05:08 AM
I doubled the memory and CPU available to the site while we get moved over this weekend to the dedicated option. The site is holding 1GB and 25% of 2 CPUs around the clock and that is why it keeps hitting the limits. That's quite a lot for a shared server so this new option will let the forum consume a lot more.

ColoradoSkier
December 8th, 2011, 08:18 AM
I wonder what is causing all of that, given we aren't even hitting the all time high for usage:

Most users ever online was 839, December 22nd, 2009 at 11:15 AM

Just a consistently high number of people on at once, but not reaching the all time high?

kris1351
December 8th, 2011, 09:26 AM
Something is causing the processes on the site to stay active constantly it looks like. Making some adjustments here to see if we can get it dropping properly.

Powerwagon
December 8th, 2011, 09:27 AM
Too many Quote marks in Gag's posts, the Quotation mark process is working overtime

kris1351
December 8th, 2011, 09:30 AM
Lets try this for a couple of hours. I will keep check on the thread to see if it makes a difference.

oleblue
December 8th, 2011, 10:31 AM
Well Kris, it was still giving me errors like carzy unitl about 10:04 - but none after, been good for 26 minutes so far.

kris1351
December 8th, 2011, 10:34 AM
We increased the max processes and memory the site can hold so that helped. We also did a few tuning things to the base site that might help out, hoping that resolved the issue.

ColoradoSkier
December 8th, 2011, 12:14 PM
Haven't seen the error for a while now.

birddog59
December 8th, 2011, 01:46 PM
Working well today! Thanks for the tweeks.