PDA

View Full Version : Bike suggestions

jeepn4evr
May 31st, 2011, 11:30 AM
I have an 87 yamaha virago 1100 that I have been riding for the past 9 years or so. I am thinking about getting a newer bike & looking for some recomendations. I have some specs in mind but haven't really looked at anything in a while. So with the following limitations in mind give me some suggestions

Under $4000
bigger than 1100ccs
2000 or newer
comfortable for me & wife for short & long trips

Note I REALLY like the looks & feel of the Yamaha Stratoliner with the Honda VTX 1800 coming in second. I have sat on both but haven't ridden either. Unfortunately I think both are out of my budget. Also while I like Harley everyone seems to have one & I want to be a little different, not to mention pretty sure they are out of my budget too.

FirecrackerKTM
May 31st, 2011, 11:53 AM
if you were buying NEW, I would say Harleys aren't such a bad deal anymore. But for used, you won't touch anything other than a 20 year old Sportster for $4k.

I've got a Suzuki, and it hasn't been a bad bike. They don't have the name that Honda/Yamaha do, so the market is a little less painful. The Boulevards are supposed to be nice bikes although I have only ridden my Marauder and can't compare. The 'Rauder is an 800 but there was a 1600 version.

XtremeXJ
May 31st, 2011, 12:13 PM
Kawasaki Mean Streak - they are either the 1500 or 1600 and you can find them clost to your price range. They have a very big aftermarket and you can make them look like nothing else (see my posts for my Mean Streak). These bikes are also no longer made after 2008.

The Suzuki Marauder 1500 and 1600 (2002 to 2006) are the exact same bike as the Kawasaki Mean Streak (Kawasaki made the bike and then sold them to Suzuki minus the items that Suzuki did to make them theirs). The only diffence is the Head Light, the Upper Tripple and the rear Fender. These bikes are no longer made after 2006 (I think).