PDA

View Full Version : Tow Rig Hunting...

Steven_Mc
May 15th, 2011, 04:27 AM
First off I'll put it up front I'm a complete newb when it comes to diesels.

I'm looking to spend less than $20K. What do I need to know? I'm not afraid to drive or fly to bring home the right truck, and I've already come across several that appear to be good deals. What kind of things do I need to be leery of or watch out for? I've heard from several folks that great deals can be found especially when you get away from the metro areas.

At this 10 seconds I'm leaning toward an 05 to 07 Ford F250 or 350. In my searches most trucks around this price range are right around 100K miles, I know this is no big deal for a diesel, but are there things I should expect to have to pay for right from the get go (maintenance, upgrades, mods, etc)?

Eventually I'll get a trailer to haul the jeep, but for the most part this will be a part time DD, and just general use truck to haul stuff or help people move.

Manual or Automatic?

What other resources or websites are out there for info and such on these trucks?

TIA!

madbob
May 15th, 2011, 05:38 AM
I have an '02 F350 (I beleive the last year of the 7.3) and love it. I know a couple guys with newer fords with the 6.0 and they have all had problems. I think the head bolts are weak and lead to head gasket problems. Other than that, good luck with your search.

pluto
May 15th, 2011, 06:10 AM
In that price range I would get a LLY Duramax. You get a good strong 6 speed Allison and you don't have the injector issues the Lb7's have.

I would avoid the 6.0 Fords, Dodge automatics from 2006 and earlier, the LB7 duramax, and the Ford auto behind the 7.3. Your best bet is to go test drive them all and see what you like, they all have pros and cons.

ENHRider14
May 15th, 2011, 07:21 AM
Stay away from the 6.0L Ford and the newer 6.4L Ford. They are junk.

Impaired
May 15th, 2011, 07:42 AM
In that price range I would get a LLY Duramax.