PDA

View Full Version : 7D or 300Ds

KCK
March 6th, 2010, 10:01 AM
I know there's Canon fans and Nikon fans. Based only upon the products not what lenses you may already own. Which one would you buy?

ColoradoSkier
March 6th, 2010, 10:13 AM
What are you going to use it for?

Jeffro600
March 6th, 2010, 10:28 AM
Lets assume im new to the game and have zero gear...ive been eyeballing these cameras for a while and while i would love to swap back to Nikon because of their full frame dominance at the moment, ive got too much invested into glass to swap right now. I shoot Canon and have on and off for several years now but i am in no way, shape or form a "fanboi".

Here are the differences ive found...

The Canon shoots 8FPS out of the box, the Nikon, 7...unless you add the grip which is another 200+, then you get 8 FPS. Advantage, albeit slight to Canon.

Canon has an 18MP sensor...the Nikon, 12. Most will say you dont need that much resolution and i agree...but it sure is nice to have if you need it and Canon finally packed a crop sensor with alot of MP's and did it without lots of noise. Resolution advantage clearly goes to Canon and will allow you much more cropping freedom.

Auto Focus...mixed bag of positives to both cameras however, the 7D is claiming to have damn near Canon 1D auto focus performance which is arguably the best in the business....after using the 7D a little, its close, but not quite up to 1D standards(my main camera is a 1D series). Based upon the features or what you need, id say draw.

The Canons movie mode is clearly better as it offers manual exposure control where as the Nikons doesnt...not that i condone video usage in a DSLR :rolleyes:, it does have its place to some users i guess. Canon advantage.

Pick them up side by side...the Canons menus more easily navigated IMO and key features are more easily accessed. The feel of the camera in my hands feels better with the 7D and i think you will find most agree. Canon advantage.