PDA

View Full Version : seriously thinking hard about

thenimirra
October 22nd, 2009, 05:24 PM
leaving the Post and finding a position (probably more like two part time positions) doing photography at various portrait studios in town. I really do think I've reached my limit dealing with the print journalism side and I'm tired of splitting my focus.

But damn...giving up health benefits and a full time gig is hard to do.

I don't think I'm ready to try to do the studio all by itself. But if I were at least working as a full time photographer, I think that would be a better step in the ultimate right direction.

What say you shutterbugs?

ASCTLC
October 22nd, 2009, 06:01 PM
I'm not a shutterbug but can only advise; leave on the best of terms. While it may not help, you'll torture yourself mentally if you need to look their direction again in the future and realize you left on anything but the best of terms. BTDT when I was young and it made it tougher than it needed to be.

And good luck if you move on.

Andy

Jeffro600
October 22nd, 2009, 07:26 PM
But damn...giving up health benefits and a full time gig is hard to do.

What say you shutterbugs?

If your not happy, your not happy...BUT,

Only a fool would give up a paying, full time job with benefits in todays economy! :P

My booking rate has been spotty at best the last 6 months or so...sometimes its non stop, sometimes its dead for months straight. Its not enough to live off of thats for sure but luckily i have other means for income at the moment so its nice to have the supplemental money coming in when i do book jobs.

I dunno, personally, id stick it out for a while longer, maybe another 6 months or so and see that the economy does. It still could get alot worse and if you quit, you cant collect unemployment. If anything, do something to get fired...(kidding) :D

ColoradoSkier
October 23rd, 2009, 08:25 AM