PDA

View Full Version : Icom 737

CYAN5DE
September 27th, 2009, 09:58 PM
anyone have experience with this rig?

I am looking at one with a nice desk mic and 20a power supply for 400.

I have no experience with HF at all, actually going to take my upgrade ticket test soon. wondering if this will get me running, or if I should save up some more pennies.

probably would run a simple dipole coax fed in the yard, no fancy schmancy tower antenna for this guy. I know this radio has internal antenna tuner which seems cool. all the trimmer's have been replaced recently as they were dropping out on a few bands....

thanks

Mudbug63
October 1st, 2009, 09:27 AM
Built in the mid to late 90's. 100 watt, 10-160 meters with WARC bands, AM/FM/SSB/CW/(no native Digi Modes, not a big deal if you have a computer), built in antenna tuner (which you knew).

Retailed for close $1800 new and would make a outstanding starter rig for HF if its in good shape.

Read the reviews here they give it 4.6 out of 5....

http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/1026

Make them fire it up into a dummy load on all bands and all modes to make sure the finals are still up to snuff. Also check that all the buttons and switches function cleanly especially the VFO (main Tuning knob) watch the dial there should not be any skips or hesitation as the freq displays moves.

Sticky switchs can be cleaned up with a shot of contact cleaner (the electronic variaty not the stuff for your eyes)

Oh and dont expect the antenna tuner to work wonders on a bad match. Its designed to clean up a poor match. It wont tune 40 meters on a 15 meter dipole. You will need to tune your antenna to be flat on SWR at the center of the band WITH OUT the tuner and then it should flatten the swr to the band edges.